CIRHA Family Self Sufficiency Program

The Family Self Sufficiency (FSS) Program is designed to help Section 8 families to obtain economic independence. CIRHA establishes and maintains a savings account for the family. Once the family is on the FSS program and receives an increase in earned income that causes the families rent to increase, CIRHA will make a monthly deposit of the amount of the rent increase into the family’s FSS savings account. This interest-bearing account is held for the family by CIRHA. After successful completion of the FSS, the family is eligible to request the funds in their account.

In addition to providing the escrow account, CIRHA’s FSS Coordinators will work with the families and local agencies to provide any supportive services that may assist the family in achieving their goals for self-sufficiency.

Central Iowa Regional Housing Authority (CIRHA) covers includes the counties of Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion and Story (does not include the cities of Knoxville or Pella).

  • Income based housing units
  • Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher
  • Family Self Sufficiency Program
  • Emergency Housing Vouchers
  • Home Ownership Program

Mailing Address:

Handicap Accessible: Yes

Website: View Website