Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waivers

Iowa currently has five Medicaid HCBS waivers for children:
• AIDS/HIV Waiver
• Brain Injury Waiver
• Children’s Mental Health Waiver
• Health and Disability Waiver
• Intellectual Disability Waiver

The Iowa Home & Community Based Services waivers are Medicaid programs from the federal government, which have rules set aside or “waived.” This provides additional choices for how and where services are received. The waivers are available to those who need additional services and supports in order to remain in their home.  Each waiver has separate requirements and services available.